Fearfully and Wonderfully Made!

June 11, 2005 at 3:46 am Leave a comment

 


My precious nephew Eli :-), originally uploaded by Adrienne2.

 

13 For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. 14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. 15 My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. 16 Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there were none of them.
-Psalm 139:13-16 ESV-

My nephew Elijah was born in December of 2003. From almost the day of his birth, we were told that something was “wrong” with him, at first it was possibly Downs Syndrome, I think from there it went to Prader Willy, then on to Cerebral Palsy. He turned one year old and still was not sitting up on his own very well, or crawling, things that “normal” babies did by that time. He saw neurologists and geneticists and still weren’t able to recieve a diagnosis. Early Childhood intervention has helped him reach many physical goals, and we are still thinking that he will one day in the near future walk on his own.

My sister, and the rest of us had such a difficult time with the “not knowing” not having some sort of diagnosis to focus on and to research, we wanted anything to help us feel more pro-active in the situation. That was not God’s will though, through the very tedious and slow process of waiting, we were made to understand that if it wasn’t in God’s timing for us to know, we just weren’t going to know! Plain and simple. We were also able to stop focusing on what was “wrong” with Eli, and start focusing on what was right with him.

I have never known a child that can smile at person; making them stop whatever it is they are doing and step into his world so easily, as Eli. Complete strangers in the supermarket will stop and just ask if they can hug him, after he has made eye contact with them and given one of his super winning smiles, many times even reaching out to them. We let them do it, it makes them both so happy and we go on. He has touched their heart though, and I think they keep that feeling for a long time. I hope that they transfer it on to someone else that needs to feel loved, just as Eli reached out to them, maybe when they were needing it. God is using him already. No matter what the doctor’s look for and find or don’t find, if he walks or doesn’t walk, if he talks or doesn’t talk, Eli was knit together in his mother’s womb to be just exactly as he is. He is a wonderful work of God, the Father, the creator of the heaven’s and the earth. There is no mistake. God has taught me a lot through little Eli, and I am sure that he will be the teacher of many throughout the days that God has ordained for him here on this earth.

We are now able to just revel in who Eli is. He doesn’t need to be anything more. I don’t want to miss one moment of beauty with him, worrying about the fact that he may never live a “normal” life, he will live the life and serve the purpose and touch the lives, that the Lord above intended for him to. I am just so thankful that I am one of the lucky ones chosen to be a part of his life!

Entry filed under: Random.

How normal are YOU? Not my plans…

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our Gang

Me & Hubby:
IMG_1711

Christine & Joshua
Cay and Joshua

Archives


