November is National Adoption Month!

November 16, 2006 at 4:26 am 1 comment

Office of the Press Secretary
October 30, 2006

National Adoption Month, 2006
A Proclamation by the President of the United States of America

During National Adoption Month, we encourage the adoption of young people in need, and we honor the adoptive and foster families who have offered children a loving and supportive home.

The best of America is reflected in the many citizens who have adopted children as their own. Mothers and fathers are the most important influences in a child’s life, and children with caring, involved parents can better realize the full promise of America. Parents help their children thrive by encouraging them to aim high, work hard, and make good choices that will lead to healthy, satisfying lives. On November 18, loving families across America will celebrate National Adoption Day by finalizing their adoptions of children from foster care. This day will also raise awareness of the many children still waiting to be adopted and encourage more Americans to choose adoption.

My Administration is committed to helping place children with caring families. Through the Collaboration to AdoptUsKids project at adoptuskids.org, we are working to provide guidance and support for parents considering adoption. We are also offering tax credits to ease the financial burden on adoptive families, and we are providing funding to help strengthen State adoption services through the Adoption Incentives Program and the Promoting Safe and Stable Families Program. Together, these efforts can help connect children with loving families and help provide greater hope and opportunity for America’s children.

During National Adoption Month, we pay tribute to the parents who have opened their hearts and homes and helped provide love and stability for young people. By caring for the youngest members of our society, these families are helping our children grow into successful adults and building the future of our country.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GEORGE W. BUSH, President of the United States of America, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution and laws of the United States, do hereby proclaim November 2006 as National Adoption Month. I call upon all Americans to observe this month with appropriate programs and activities to honor adoptive families and to participate in efforts to find permanent homes for waiting children.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand this thirtieth day of October, in the year of our Lord two thousand six, and of the Independence of the United States of America the two hundred and thirty-first.

GEORGE W. BUSH

If you are interested visit the website that President Bush mentioned; AdoptUsKids. At the top of the page you can click “Meet The Children” to see waiting children from all over the United States.

A really neat thing about National Adoption Day is that local attorneys in each city, or county, around the country provide their services pro bono for adoptive families. In Tarrant Count, where I live, there will be 85 adoptions consummated that day, and a friend of mine and her family will be among them! Congratulations to Tiffany and her new son Caleb! Caleb is a sweet nine year old boy from here in Fort Worth, and he has been the perfect addition to their family. I am so very excited for you! Tiffany added a new daughter, Tabitha, only a few months ago also, and….after the beginning of the year will begin fostering again. I think Tiffany and her family are sure doing their part! :-)

I would also like to take this time to mention that Barbara Curtis at Mommy Life blogged today about a little baby boy in Colorado, Bryce, who has Down Syndrome and is in need of an adoptive home. They are only looking at approved homes in Colorado right now though. If you are in Colorado, go on over and read about him!

It will be at least a month before we hear anything about the little girl that we submitted our homestudy for. I thank you all who are praying for us, it means so, so much to me to know that we are being lifted in prayer! During this time of waiting, I often feel just like an expectant mom. I have a difficult time concentrating, I forget things, and I sometimes feel worn out. I went through all the same feelings when we were traveling the road to adopting Joshua. That journey was a bit more eventful than I would have ever desired, but God used ever twist and every turn to make it clear to us that He was guiding our steps. I praise Him for that! I could not have made it without Him carrying me through to the end. As soon as I held my little guy for the first time…I knew, without a doubt, that he was right where he belonged, right where He meant for him to be. That was an amazing feeling. I remember as soon as we walked into his foster parents home, Joshua reached out for me and smiled, just as if he had been expecting me…maybe he was. :-)

Love one another!~Yvonne

Entry filed under: Adoption, My "Pooh Bear" Joshua, Random.

My new luxury… What kind of reader are you…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tiffany  |  November 27, 2006 at 8:18 pm

    Thanks for the congrats on Caleb. National Adoption Day was so incredible!!!!

    It is nice to be “on break” from the whole foster/adopt thing for a couple of months. I’m sure after the first of the year I will be ready to go again!

    We are blessed,

    Tiffany

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our Gang

Me & Hubby:
IMG_1711

Christine & Joshua
Cay and Joshua

Archives


