Homemade gifts…

December 2, 2006 at 8:30 pm 8 comments

I saw this link over at Randi’s after she made one for her daughter Aubry. Then Shelly got all crafty with the same pattern! I decided to give it a go when my friend Samantha’s daughter turned 4 this week. I changed it up just a bit by adding stitching around the turned up part and a little flower that I made from ribbon with a button center. Here is my version:

Fleece hat I made as a gift

I made these for her Mama, Samantha, for her birthday:

IMG_2689

Cloth menstrual pads. These are my new love. I will be busily sewing many more of these today, for myself and for my daughter, Christine. I picked up some great flannels for the tops this time, over at the Joann’s day after Thanksgiving sale-99 cents a yard, you can’t beat those prices! Samantha has been using cloth for sometime and told me about them, and I finally tried it. I have to say that now that I have tried them for myself, I will never go back to the disposable kind! They are unbelievably comfortable! Plus they suit my hippie-at-heart personality! :-)

Love one another!~Yvonne

Entry filed under: Crafty, Random.

The reason for the season… Random thoughts tonight…

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shelly  |  December 3, 2006 at 2:45 am

    The hat looks awesome! I love the material and the little flower is too cute. Do you really need that type of hat in TX?????

    Great job on the pads, too…um…

    Hope you had a great Thanksgiving…yeah, I’m a little behind!

    Reply
  • 2. Samantha  |  December 3, 2006 at 4:28 am

    I’m glad that we’re close enough that you could give me such an AWESOME gift!! They are one of the best gifts I have ever recieved, although I doubt anyone will want to have the pads left to them in my will, heheheheheeeeeeeee, snort.

    Reply
  • 3. Wendy @ WMF  |  December 4, 2006 at 12:04 am

    Cute hat.

    i have been considering the cloth pads. I did use cloth diapers for over 10 years. I guess it really can’t be any grosser than that. ;)
    I remember reading once that you should soak the used pads in a bucket of water in your bathroom, and then use the water to water you houseplants. I don’t think I’ll go quite that far…….
    Do you have a pattern, or are you just winging it?

    Reply
  • 4. lindiepindie  |  December 4, 2006 at 6:30 am

    You are a hippie at heart? I guess the real test will be what you do with the water that Wendy mentioned. Hee hee.

    Reply
  • 5. lizzie  |  December 5, 2006 at 8:59 am

    Now that is something I’ve never heard of! Part of me wants to say, “Icky!” Another part of me wants to say, “Not such a bad idea!”

    The hat is precious! I want one of those for the ski slopes!

    Reply
  • 6. Miz Booshay  |  December 10, 2006 at 10:00 am

    That is a very darling hat!

    How you keep the pads from leaking through?
    How do you keep them in place?
    How do you wash them?

    Reply
  • 7. Samantha  |  December 12, 2006 at 9:08 pm

    I can say from experience that the pads don’t leak. They just stay very nicely in your undergarments (the fleece kind of holds them there). You can either soak them in something and use the water to fertilize some plan (if you are arelly the earth-mama type), or just throw them in the washer.

    Reply
  • 8. beth  |  December 18, 2006 at 12:24 pm

    You’re so good, girl! I was looking at those “pads” on your flickr site and wondering what in the world they were. Now I know, hah! You are way cool (my inner hippie relates)… I may just have to hop on over to ebay and try me out some of those. My SIL, who’s a real earth-Mama has been using the “cup” for her monthlies, and she’s liking that. Either way would be so much cheaper than buying these plastic ones, for sure (and healthier too, undoubtedly)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our Gang

Me & Hubby:
IMG_1711

Christine & Joshua
Cay and Joshua

Archives


