Friend or foe?

February 7, 2007 at 12:38 am 3 comments

We will soon be in the midst of caseworker visits again. I am so, so thankful that we will probably have the same one we did for Joshua, that is IF we get Little Miss V. When you are first starting out on the adoption journey or foster parent journey you just don’t know what to expect from the caseworkers. When they come to your home, you run around cleaning like a madwoman (at least I did) and fear that if you don’t pass the white glove test it will be a mar on your record, I even feared losing Joshua if I didn’t appear to be perfect. That was a bit extreme, but when you love a little person that much and someone else is in “control” of them being in your home it can be, was, nervewracking. Those were fears I had at that time…

Now, a year later, I know that the caseworkers were not looking for me to do something wrong like I had feared. Indeed, they even wanted us to succeed as a family, even if my couch had a load of laundry on it, or the legos were scattered accross the floor! Imagine that! I am glad to have that knowlege now, as I prepare to go down that path again.

I read a blog entry tonight that made me think of this, it’s title: Barbies and Caseworkers go over and read it if you are interested in the topic, it’s a very enlightening piece written from both sides of the fence.

Entry filed under: Adoption.

Yes, you are in the right place… My new best friend (hopefully!)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Randi  |  February 7, 2007 at 8:16 am

    I think that a few Legos on the floor and laundry piles are easy to look past when the love you have for your kids is so obvious! Your joy over being a mom comes through loud and clear here on your blog and I can only imagine that it is the same in real life. No need to worry!

    (((HUGS)))

    Reply
  • 2. lizzie  |  February 7, 2007 at 8:32 am

    I’m glad you have a new perspective as you go down this road again. Do you find out in a week or so?? How’s the health around there? Did you escape the dreaded flu?? I hope you all are having a nice (easier) week!
    Love, Lizzie

    Reply
  • 3. Christy  |  February 7, 2007 at 9:28 am

    Thanks for sharing the link. As you know, I’m interested in learning all I can about the adoption/foster care process!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our Gang

Me & Hubby:
IMG_1711

Christine & Joshua
Cay and Joshua

Archives


