Back to the blog and gluten free…

November 19, 2007 at 12:04 am 2 comments

I’ve gone gluten free. I’ve said “adios” to gluten, sayonara, bon voyage…you get the idea!

I am almost two months into my gluten free lifetstyle.

Why gluten free? The story goes like this…

My nephew, Eli, is on the autisic spectrum. Many kids on the spectrum have benefitted from going on “The Diet” (gluten free and casein free~ a.k.a.~ GFCF). My sister decided to give it a go and see if it made a difference for Eli, and lo and behold…she started seeing some pretty dramatic changes in him. Within days he started trying to use words he had never used, he only 3 or 4 until then. He also was more in the “here and now” and not in his own little world, and many of his stimming behaviours lessened. It was pretty amazing!

I decided to try Joshua on “the diet” and see if I could see any differences in him. Not near as much as Eli, but I do feel he has a bit more focus and his diarrhea has subsided.

Then my sister decided to do it, and well, we always do the same things, so I had to do it to! I started researching the signs and symptoms of gluten intolerance and was just blown away at how many of them I had! I definitely had to try it out!

After one week, I felt clearer headed than I had in a very long time, I had more energy, the joint pain I had experienced for the last year was GONE, and the diarrhea and bloating were so much less. Two weeks later, the intestinal stuff was also GONE! I felt so alive. At that time my anti-depressants, that I have been taking for 7 years ran out, so I decided, after talking to my family and asking them to keep and eye on me, to try and go without them and see what happened. I was shocked that after a couple of days of not taking them, I was not huddled in a crying puddle as I have been after previous attempts, instead I felt wonderful. It’s been two months now and I feel just wonderful, more me, more free, than I have in either decades or my whole life, I can’t decide! :-)

The only negative that I have noticed from going off of my “meds” is that now that I am not taking something with an anti-anxiety med, my old buddy acid reflux has come to visit. I think I get going and going during the day, running around doing my busy mom stuff, and I feel like I forget to breathe sometimes, or breathe as shallow as you possibly can and get by. I don’t know if that makes sense to anyone but me, but that’s the only way I can think of to describe it. I find that I actually have to remember to take deep breaths, breaths that are cleansing and relieving. I also have discovered ginger and peppermint tea as a way to help my reflux. It’s really soothing to my stomach and seems to help. I am just starting this and read that I should drink a cup after each meal. I’ll update on how that’s going in a week or so.

That’s my story. I could sing, Sound of Music style, from the highest mountain top, how good I feel. Lucky for you, no sound comes through the blog, or you’d be plugging your ears and running about now! Aren’t you glad I’m back now? :-)

Entry filed under: Gluten-Free.

It was fun… Spring rolls…a yummy GF treat!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TC  |  November 19, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    I AM glad you’re back. And even more glad that you’re feeling better. You know, the incidence of gluten-intolerance (or celiac disease) in the US is 1:133. Many sufferers are yet to be diagnosed, or have been misdiagnosed. And there’s definitely a genetic component – your parents should consider a gf diet, too.

    Reply
  • 2. Melanie  |  November 21, 2007 at 9:32 am

    Thank you for this! I am researching this same thing for my 18 month old son and I’m glad to hear how successful it has been for your families. (I found you via lindiepindie!!!!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our Gang

Me & Hubby:
IMG_1711

Christine & Joshua
Cay and Joshua

Archives


